Dark Desire (Dark Saga #2) by Christine Feehan

Dark Desire (Dark, #2)Dark Desire by Christine Feehan
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Paranormal Romance
Series: – Book 2 in the Series. Jacques is the brother of Mikhail from [book:Dark Prince|28866]
Writing – Third person, Dual POV.
Main Characters:Shea O’Halloran – a surgeon who is on the run, from “vampire” hunters. Is doing research into a blood disorder she thinks she has.
Jacques Dubrinsky – Carpathian Male, tortured and trapped. He has a mental connection to Shea during his imprisonment. Tortured to the point of madness, he has no memories of his life before.
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Yes, and have done so


There was only pain. Terrible endless pain. He could not make a sound, even when his mind shattered into a million fragments and he could no longer remember what, or whom, he was struggling to protect.

This is the story of Jacques and Shea.

It is often brutal – Jacques has been tortured and buried alive for seven years, with no memory of who he is. His only connection in this madness is his mental link to Shea – a woman he believes at the time, to be part of his torture.

The first half of the book, is pretty much just Jacques and Shea. From when they make the mental connection, to years later, when Shea comes across his battered and tortured body, and saves him.

Jacques walks the edge of madness and often does not know what he is doing. Shea is resigned to death, thinking her illness will kill her.

They both have a hard path to walk, coming to terms with what they are to each other, and what they have become. Both damaged and wounded souls.

Again, as book 1, not a huge set of characters, indeed even less so than in book 1, but we do see Mikhail, Raven, Gregori and Byron again.

Having read the series before, these first few books are very much setting up the history of the “vampire” huntings starting again, and setting the basis for the “wars” beginning again for the Carpathian people!

Book 1 is set 25 years before this one, and book 3 is another 25 years after book 2. So as I say, these first few books are very much about outlining the players and setting up for how the “vampire” huntings are going to get worse, and how the “Society” hunting them grown from what is to what it will become.

As they go on, the world building gets more involved and hidden foes are brought out into the open. Friends and enemies alike, both thought long dead begin to make a reappearance and the series gets better and better. If you want a new PNR series to start, you cannot go wrong with this.

Amazon UK Link: Dark Desire: Number 2 in series (The ‘Dark’ Carpathian)

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal/Sci-Fi Romance

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s