ARC – Way Down Deep by Charlotte Stein and Cara McKenna

Way Down DeepWay Down Deep by Charlotte Stein

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont. Romance
Series: – Stand Alone
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – More of a possible HFN
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 3 stars

★Review★

I was so intrigued by this book. And I really wanted to love it.

But, in all honesty, it felt a bit try hard. That sounds awful, but I cannot think of how else to describe it.

We have 2 characters who accidentally end up in contact via txt, and start talking to each other.

We find out over the course of this texting “relationship” (which goes from 0-60 in like 2 weeks) they both have traumatic pasts, and some quite heavy real life issues.

The problem is, it feels like this is not really addressed. They both develop a pretty co dependent relationship with each other, using it to not have to face up to the reality of their lives. It is not healthy.

There is some fairly lengthy and wordy prose here (weird given it is meant to be TXT exchanges) and I found myself skimming over it.

I don’t know, maybe I am just too shallow a person for this. It needs a reader to be deeper then me, with more emotional depth.

And all the way through, I felt like I was waiting for that something to happen, (and yes the blurb says “An erotic romance…told entirely through text messages”) but I really felt like I was slogging my way through it, to get to the prize at the end, only to be told…

Like if you have waited hours for the newest, best, longest roller coaster in the world, and as you get to the front of the queue, you get told the ride is now closed.

I was left vaguely disappointed and with more question left unanswered.

But maybe that was what the author was going for. It just was not for me.

I can appreciate it was well written, and certainly intriguing and interesting. But I cannot see me wanting to read anything like this again in the future.

I will sit firmly at 3 stars.

Amazon UK Link – http://amzn.eu/hqFINWG
Amazon US Link – http://a.co/ePs61mg

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

