ARC Review – The Right Kind of Trouble (The McKays #3) by Shiloh Walker

The Right Kind of Trouble (The McKays, #3)The Right Kind of Trouble by Shiloh Walker

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Copy received via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont. Romance
Series: – 3rd in the series
Love triangle? – No, but the hero is trying to move on from the heroine (it has been twenty years, who can blame him!)
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 3 stars

★Review★

I have to say, when I grabbed this off Netgalley, I did not realise it was the third in a series, and in all honesty, I do feel it needs to be read in order. There is a lot of stuff mentioned from previous books, and it real almost more like a family saga at times, than a romance. It is all about the MCKAYS! Seriously, everything seems to be named after this family, and the entire town is still obsessed with McKays of years past.

I found the heroine, for some reason, slightly unlikable. Not even sure why, I just struggled with her. I expected her reason for pushing Gideon away to be something so much more, but for me, she punished herself, and punished the hero for YEARS, over a not very good reason IMO.

Ofc, when he is trying to move on is when she decided she wants a second chance.

In saying that, I did like the hero Gideon. I just felt he got a very raw deal all in. And did not really understand just WHY he hung around for 20 years and never moved on. Of course, if he had, we would have had no story, but still, the heroine married someone else in that time!

All in, I did sort of enjoy it, I liked the hero, I liked the heroines siblings and their partners, but I probably would not be tempted to go back and read their stories.

Amazon UK Link – http://amzn.to/29zbzIe
Amazon US Link – https://amzn.com/B01AGHENDQ

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

