Review – The Beast (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #14) by J.R. Ward

The Beast (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #14)The Beast by J.R. Ward

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Paranormal Romance
Series: – 14th in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 4

★Review★

As with a lot of people I really enjoyed the first few books in the series. Yet liked them less and less as it went on. I have not read The King or The Shadows book at all and skim read Lover At Last.

However Rhage and Mary have always been my favourite. So I could not resist this when it came out (despite me feeling rather mugged at the price tbh).

And I adored the parts with Rhage and Mary. Truly adored them. Rhage remains my favourite every brother, as said in the book, he has such a massive heart. And Mary is my favourite heroine in the series. And together, they are for me the most steady and in love couple of the series. And even in this book, with a distance between them neither ever doubt their love for each other, or thier commitment. I could re read again and again every Rhage and Mary part.

But again, and this is what ended up putting me off J R Ward, sometimes she clouds the books with too many secondary story lines and POV’s. As ever, V and Jane seem to not really be truly together, and I actually liked their story originally and how it worked out they could be together, but we had a re hash of them again as a secondary storyline in a later book, and then in this one, it seems like they are once AGAIN not truly settled.

And I found myself getting (probably) unreasonably annoyed that when all the brothers would be together, the author could not just bloody say who was speaking sometimes it. It was usually “someone said”…..” then someone else said “…..”. Just felt lazy to me to not put a name to the dialogue.

All in, 5 plus stars for what i read this book for Rhage and Mary, 2-3 for the rest. And I shall maybe read more in the future in the series but will be selective about it tbh.

Amazon UK Link – The Beast (Black Dagger Brotherhood)
Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/045147516X

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal/Sci-Fi Romance

Leave a Reply

