Review – Their Kidnapped Bride (Bridgewater Menage #1) by Vanessa Vale

Their Kidnapped Bride (Bridgewater Menage, #1)Their Kidnapped Bride by Vanessa Vale

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Copy received via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Keeping this short as I have had the flu.

This was an ok read for me so will rate it 2 (and seriously, 2 stars is still ok)

It did not feel AT ALL like a romance mind you, just straight up erotica, and while they end the books in a committed M/f/M there was no real feeling other than lust and possessiveness for me.

No real depth to the characters, I found the heroine vaguely unlikeable, but then could not really put my finger on as to why.

It did not really read at like an historical, other than at times the descriptions and dialogue were weirdly “formal” (as if this was almost a nod to it being in the past) and read like someone had been looking at a thesaurus

example – “The topic was odd. Everything was odd. Why were they talking in my bedroom while I slept? It was time to discern the answer” I mean, we are in first person POV, she has woken up drugged and overhearing her step brother selling her, and she is all “I must wake and discern the answer”

Or “I sank into the kiss, I could do nothing but, for he was quite skilled at it”

It just made it for me, not a natural flowing reading experience.

Some of the descriptions at times were a touch cringey, and I happened to be munching on something at one point reading this and quite frankly it nearly put me off my kit kat!

Certain things were mentioned like Ian going off to deal with her step brother, or the whole drama from his past, that just fizzled into nothing….

All in, it just sort of left me feeling nothing really.

It could have been better, if it was more development given to the characters, and more time given to certain plot lines that were mentioned leading to nothing. Instead it was, heroine sold, bought, de-virgnised, bring her home, lets all talk about sex and butt plugs at the dinner table as that is just so normal.

Amazon UK Link – Their Kidnapped Bride (Bridgewater Menage Series Book 1)
Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/B00XJ3H67U

Leave a comment

Filed under Erotica Romance, Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

