Review – Hard Time by Cara McKenna

Hard TimeHard Time by Cara McKenna

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – Stand Alone
Love triangle? – No.
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 5 stars ++++

★Review★

Having read this author in the past, I have felt with previous books she has left the ending a touch open, sometimes more of a HFN, but with a strong hint of promise that the characters would get their HEA with each other, but I liked how she did it, it allowed for me as the reader to carry on and imagine the HEA in my head that suited me.

In this book, it had less of that HFN and more of a settled heading toward a HEA, but still done in that skilful way the author has, of letting us as the reader, build the HEA in our head to suit ourselves.

I wanted to read this book ages ago, when it first released, but did not get it on release, then it became unavailable in the UK for a time

But I really wish I had read it ages ago, as I loved it, and could have probably had a good couple of re reads in by now.

It is not full of over the top drama to try and keep the readers attention, or stalkers, kidnappers etc (not that I do not enjoy books with these in them) but instead characters that are very REAL. The way their relationship started meant it built a very real emotional connection between the characters and between the reader and the story.

And it was a sweetly romantic read, but not to say that the hero and heroine did not have struggles to overcome. But again, dealt with in a very real and very relateable way. And it was hot! Due to the connection the characters had, and how you were really rooting for them. This is a definite re read for me and I will not soon forget Eric and Annie, they are one of my favourite couples, and Eric is very much so one of my favourite heroes ever.

An emotional, romantic sexy better than 5 stars book.

Amazon UK Link – Hard Time
Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/B00GY9SK4O

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

