#Review – Restoring Hope by C.P. Smith

Restoring HopeRestoring Hope by C.P. Smith
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont. Romance
Series: – Stand Alone
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Erm….probably
Rating – 3 stars

★Review★

Ok, so I have been struggling with this review and rating, I have only read 1 other book but his author, and to be honest I had some issues.

And it was the same here.

I felt like it was a touch repetitive. The heroine constantly thinking she needs to run away to save her friends. The Hero constantly thinking to himself how he cannot have a relationship so he does not fail his son like he feels he failed his daughter. And I mean constantly!!

I am not a huge fan of having to have a translation guide at the start, and found myself flicking back and forth to be able to understand some of what was being said. And again not a fan of speech being written in dialect, it just makes it hard for me to read.

And again, yet another book with a crazy ex wife! Just why!? I am beyond bored of that.

I struggled with feeling a connection to the characters, the heroine especially, and given the heroine is afraid of her own shadow and had proved to be clumsy and able to trip over her own feet can someone please explain to me, how and why this woman jumped from a moving train, into the arms of the hero, without doing herself damage! And as if she could not have just said to him, as he was running along the platform, I will get off the next stop and come back, or maybe you know, call you and we can talk. No, she JUMPS from a moving train! Leaving everything she owns on the train! I actually had to put my kindle down at the point to giggle…

Although I am maybe being harsh, as you know what, I did enjoy it. If you can ignore some utter over the top ridiculousness, the author came up with a pretty good story, and it could have been a beautiful and emotional tale of healing after loss and abuse, I just do not get why, as with the only other book I have read by her, she feels the need to add in drama on top of drama on top of ridiculousness. Just tone it down a touch, take some of it out, and it would be pretty much perfect for me.

Mind you I probably will read something more by this author.

Amazon UK Link – Restoring Hope

Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/B00LZFHL7Y

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

