Review – Sacked (Gridiron, #1) by Jen Frederick

Sacked (Gridiron, #1)Sacked by Jen Frederick
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont NA Romance
Series: – 1st in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 4 stars

★Review★

I have to admit to being fairly new to the whole NA thing. I in the past have tended to avoid them as I find I like my characters older, and I have a view that this genre would be overly angsty and full of llama drama antics.

However, the ones I have actually read and can remember anything about, have been, well, heart warmingly sweet. Well, I say that like there is a lot, but really there has been like 2 recently – and for some reason both have had a hero that is a virgin and the heroine being a bit more experienced! Not that I have intentionally gone for that, just the way it has worked out for me.

As was the case here. The hero was great. I loved that he was a virgin, yet he was not ashamed of this, or felt the need to lie about it ever. It was what it was for him, and he never made out that it was anything to hide or lie about it. (although it felt a bit unrealistic in all honesty) still I loved this about him. I LOVED the banter and friendship between the hero and his team, and there were some very funny moments when they were all together.

The heroine I really liked too. You felt for her, and how she looked out for her brother, even though she was forced into doing more than she wanted thanks to her parents.

Which leads me to her parents, and maybe one of the areas of the book I had more of an issue with. They were cartoonishly villainous. And I wanted more of a resolution with them at the end when her father just turned up, made some noise, then seemed to just melt away without so much as a whimper. I am not sure why he even turned up, it added maybe a paragraph of mild drama, that then sort of faded.

And the drama that led to them having to break up for a time felt too forced and unbelievable.

Also, and I knew this going in, and I am not at all going to downgrade my rating due to this, but there were A LOT of American Football references, and descriptions, that I just did not get. As I say, I knew this going in, but it felt, for me, a bit too much.

However, in saying that, I really really loved this story, and if you can come into it, needing something sweet and low on angst, and just sort of skim over the insta lust, it is a hugely enjoyable read. I loved the main characters and there are some secondary characters I would love to see get a book. I will definitely be continuing with the series.

Amazon UK Link – Sacked: A Novel (A Gridiron Novel Book 1)
Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/B014K7YSHO

Leave a comment

Filed under YA/NA Romance

Leave a Reply

