ARC Review – Prisoner of Love by Cathy Skendrovich

Prisoner of LovePrisoner of Love by Cathy Skendrovich
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Copy received via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont. Romance
Series: – Stand Alone
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Possibly
Rating – 3.5 stars (rounded up to 4)

★Review★

I quite enjoyed this story.

It actually managed to pack more of an emotional punch than I expected. It helped that it was dual POV, and even though it was very fast paced, we got to experience how both the hero and heroine were feeling.

I actually really liked how the Hero was written. He was tough and honourable, yet had a vulnerability to him that was endearing and made him feel more realistic.

The heroine, was likeable too, even if at times it felt like she cried at the drop of a hat. But, overall, it was a fast paced read with two characters you enjoyed watching fall in love. The suspense part was well done, not overblown, and just enough to make you wonder how it would be resolved.

BUT, and this is a huge but, I kept getting really distracted by one thing that was a constant in this book. The heroine, who is a size 10 (which is I think a UK 12/14) who was constantly referred to as fat, in various forms. She had a bad view of herself (despite being quite successful in her career) and thought she only deserved to date losers, as she “knew her place in the dating world”, thought the hero would have nothing to do with her. The villains in the book call her fat, plus size, hefty, plump etc. It felt like it was constantly being pushed down my throat that she was “big” and yet the hero liked her anyway, in fact he ofc, had to refer to her as “pin up model perfect..with round curves”. Just so you know, we get that he likes her despite her being plus sized. I am not sure if the author was making some sort of social commentary on the ridiculous beauty standards in today’s society, or she actually thinks that a US size 10 is fat. I worry it is the latter. All in tbh it left a rather bad taste in my mouth.

Despite that, I actually really did enjoy the story, the above was just one of those things that turned out to bug me. But all in, I enjoyed the story, it kept me entertained and I would read more by the author.

Release date 19th October 2015

Amazon UK Link – Prisoner of Love
Amazon US Link – http://amzn.com/B014CS5KDW

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

