Soaring (Magdalene, #2) by Kristen Ashley

Soaring (Magdalene, #2)Soaring by Kristen Ashley
My rating: 3 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Cont Romance
Series: – Book 2 in the series.
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating 3 stars

I have to say, overall, this is so far not my favourite series of hers.

In both this and book 1, I have struggled with the heroine. And while I loved Jake in The Will, I did not love Mickey as much here, although he was a likeable enough character for me.

However, the main issue I had with the heroine, was her complete inability it seemed, to take responsibility for her own actions. Yes, her ex is awful, and he had an affair, and her parents seem toxic, but it was just excuse after excuse, it seems to be caused by any number of people either being some sort of trigger, bad influence or goading her into retaliating so much she drove her children away! She is a 47 year old women, she should take some damn responsibility.

But, I got over that (sort of) and I did enjoy it. Mickey, as can be with KA hero’s was a bit of a dick to start, but he did actually explain his reasons.

The relationship with her kids seemed to go from non existent to awesome in a matter of pages.

Lots of pages about Mickey and Amelia trying to juggle their life, discussing the juggling of their lives, trying to blend their life, discussing blending their lives etc…

While it gave that part of it, a realistic portrayal of trying to blend 2 families, it was just a bit – boring in the end.

But, in the end, I did enjoy it, and I did end up liking Amy (if I ignore her unable to take any responsibility pity party of the first 25%) and I finished the book with a smile on my face.

But not my fave KA.

Amazon UK Link: Soaring (The Magdalene Series Book 2)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

