Wolfe Island by Giulia Torre

Wolfe IslandWolfe Island by Giulia Torre
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Copy received by author in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Historical Romance
Series: – Stand Alone
Love triangle? – Not really – there is another marriage prospect for the hero, but it is made clear from the start, she is not a romantic love rival
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 4.5 (rounded up to 5) stars

★Review★

When I was offered this as a R2R I uhhmed and ahhed – since it had been awhile since I had read a historical romance, and enjoyed one.

But there was something about the book description that grabbed me, and I am glad I decided to read it.

I really truly enjoyed this book. And looking into it, I am amazed this seems to be the author’s début..

The writing draws you in, you get a very real feel for the time and place it is set. It is almost hypnotizing, allowing me to paint a picture in my head of the area, almost feel like you could be there, floating along the river on a boat with the characters. . I have never read an historical based in this time period/setting, but for me, it came across true, and gave a real sense to a time in history where things were just on the cusp of change for women especially.

I loved the heroine Meredith, she was smart, accomplished, but sheltered in other ways, due to her upbringing, but not naive. She had control, and she was not just some simpering young innocent, so prevalent in historical romances!

And Tristan, while we did not get to know him as well as Meredith, it suited his character, how reserved he was, the decisions he felt like he had to make.

But above all, I really enjoyed their romance, they had a history, a connection they could not deny and I truly enjoyed reading their story. No over the top angst or drama, just a story of two people, maybe changing their minds about what is most important to them, and finding each other.

I have been wavering between a 4 or a 5, I do wish we had maybe had a bit more time in the head of Tristan, but that is because I love a male POV in a book, that is just preference, but I enjoyed this so much more than I thought, so I am going to sit firmly at a 4.5 (rounded up to 5)

I look forward to reading more from this author, and there are a couple of secondary characters that are very intriguing.

Amazon Uk Link: Wolfe Island: A New York Style American Historical Romance (Diamonds on the Water Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Historical Romance

Leave a Reply

