Venomous (Alien Warrior #1) by Penelope Fletcher

Venomous (Alien Warrior, #1)Venomous by Penelope Fletcher
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Paranormal Erotica Romance
Series: – 1st in the series
Love triangle? -No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – yes
Rating – 4 stars

★Review★

This did not start out good for me. It felt a bit confused and almost like it was going to take itself far too seriously, just the writing and the way things were described. It took me a good 10% or so to get used to the authors “voice”.

However I think this may be one of my favourite ever books in this genre.

It is a long book, with great world building, and just got better and better as it went on.

Once I was into it, I did not want it to end.

While the relationship between Lumen and Venomous does not at all get off to a great start, due to a difference in culture, expectations and the circumstances surrounding them meeting, the love that grew between them was heartfelt and real.

Enough drama to keep things moving along, but not too much, or that did not fit, given the story.

Adding in Fiercely and Cobra, again, fit the story and the world/culture they lived in.

It never felt too much as if Lumen had favourites, once they were all together as a clan – not to say she did not struggle with the idea of introducing others into the relationship, that was a struggle for her and portrayed realistically for me (well as realistically as a book about 4 armed aliens can be) but once she accepted it, it never came across like she had favourites – just that she loved them for different reasons and in different ways.

I loved the introduction of King Beowyn ThunderClaw, the Great Alpha, and how he interacted with Lumen and became her “best friend”. Great comedic relief.

All in a great 4 stars, and I cannot wait to read the next book about Beowyn. I adored him in this book.

Why not 5 though? Maybe because it did take me a few chapters to truly get into it, and the names!! They are long and unusual, and there were times I had to go back and double check who was who and the connection to the main characters. And I kept getting mixed up with what words they used to refer to days/weeks etc.

I got this on KU but I will be buying it to re read again and again.

Amazon Uk Link: Venomous (Alien Warrior Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal/Sci-Fi Romance

Leave a Reply

