Phoenix Rising (Phoenix Inc. #1) by Heather R. Blair

Phoenix Rising (Phoenix Inc. #1)Phoenix Rising by Heather R. Blair
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Copy received via author in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Paranormal Romance
Series: – 1st in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 5

★Review★

I was offered this to review as I love a “lovers reunited” story.

At only 83 pages or so, I expected to enjoy it, but expected it to be lacking a depth or connection to the characters a shorter read can often have.

However, I got so much more than that. It draws you in from the start, and the characters just jump off the page. You can almost taste their pain at what had happened in the past between them.

Neither of them had been the “villain” in what had happened before, but outside forces had separated them, and they both had tried to move on, with their own version of what had happened, but carrying the pain around with them.

I have not been reading as much PNR as I used to, it can get all a bit samey, or feels like the author has jumped on a bandwagon.

But here, it was perfection. Given the shortness, the world building was excellent, and given to the reader in a way that felt natural and not overwhelming, which is where so many of this genre can fall down, and you feel like you are getting a lecture or an over abundance of information and “facts” to build the world, detracting from the story itself – not so here.

Miles is a 600 year old vampire, and it shows, he is scary and there are descriptions of him at certain points in the book, scenes that are almost chilling and sent a shiver down my spine. Yet, he loved Kelsey, and feels the pain of that loss every day, his pain is just not that of a normal man, he feels rage along with the pain and is almost fighting his own nature to not lash out with all that pain and rage.

Kelsey I also loved, her history and back story is explained very naturally and, she has fought her way back and built a life for herself.

All in, an excellent read, I finished it feeling like I had read a full length novel, getting so much more than should be possible in a relatively small number of pages – an interesting world I want to read more of, and main characters that I fell in love with, feeling their rage and pain, and then their joy.

I will definitely be continuing the series.

Amazon UK Link: Phoenix Rising

Leave a comment

Filed under Paranormal/Sci-Fi Romance

Leave a Reply

