Garrett (Cold Fury Hockey #2) by Sawyer Bennett

Garrett (Cold Fury Hockey, #2)Garrett by Sawyer Bennett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Copy received via netgalley in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – 2nd in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author/or in this series? – Yes
Rating – 4

★Review★

Starting this I was worried I would not like it as much as I did Alex – as I loved Alex!

I need not have worried Garrett is a completely different man to Alex, but I ended up falling in love with him all the same.

The story here was beautiful, and usually I am a bit eye rolley over insta love, but here it actually fit, given the circumstances.

I worried we might get too much of Garrett and his “king of one night stand” ways at the start, but luckily it moved on from that and got into the story really quickly.

I adored Garret, once he fell, he fell hard and was so willing to just be there for Olivia. I liked how the relationship developed, and as with book 1, it was the main characters own fears, that led to any relationship tension, as opposed to the often used BIG MISUNDERSTANDING!. Olivia I really liked too, and they felt like a couple who actually fit well together.

All in a lovely beautiful story that made me happy, that is excellently written and will have you falling in love a little (ok a lot) with the characters.

But why not a five?

Well, I am not a huge fan of present tense first POV – especially when it is a dual POV – but that is a personal preference.

And the situation with Zack and Gina, quite frankly I could see a mile off, every time the book mentioned how happy and in love they are – it sounded like a bell of doom! And I was not surprised how that went. I was not at all surprised to get to the end and read Zack has his book next! Put a very happy couple in a series (unless they are siblings of the main character I find) make them so super happy and in love, you may as well write it with one of them having the Grim reaper tapping on their shoulder!

And I am not a fan of other couples HEA (regardless of if they had their own book or not) being messed with to move the story forward for the couple we are reading about, And that is what it felt like here.

Amazon Uk Link: Garrett: A Cold Fury Hockey Novel (Carolina Cold Fury Hockey Book 2)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

