My Coyote Ugly Life (My Life #1) by Jessica Spoon

My Coyote Ugly Life (My Life, #1)My Coyote Ugly Life by Jessica Spoon
My rating: 5+++ of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – 1st in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Definitely
Rating – 5++++

★Review★

I loved this book so much more than I thought I would.

I had seen it recommended as being a bit similar to Kristen Ashley, which always makes me nervous, as I have yet to really love anything that has been recommended as having a KA feel.

And it did remind me a bit of KA, mixed with a bit of Linda Howard’s Blair Mallory series (which I loved)

The heroine was something very refreshing in the romance genre. A woman with an active sex life, on her terms. She had a one month rule, in that, she would not have any “relationship” for longer than one month, and then only if she really liked him. One night was more her style.

But, she is a successful woman, in her twenties, had had her heart broken before, seen her friends have their heart broken and basically thought “screw that, men suck”

Men are liars. And shouldn’t be trusted. They use their devil penis magic to hook you and before you know it they are mooching off of you and stealing your credit card. (no that didn’t happen to me, but it totally could if I allowed myself to be ensnared by the penis magic)

Now fair warning, since having seen some comments on groups I am in about this, that this may bother some people, it does open with her having a one night stand – although I was giggling from the get go. I loved Ree and her thoughts and way she gets herself out of the situation.

This is the only stranger one night stand in the book – she meets the hero pretty soon after and moves back to her home town to help look after her Mom.

I personally, actually really liked that they had a female character that had an active sex life, on her terms. Refreshing in the romance genre. I get fed up of the virgin or near virgin female, and then the man who comes along ( who has slept around loads) and claims the virgin. Yet this same “hero” derides the females who have acted just like him, had a few sexual partners or one night stands. Treats them with scorn etc, or they are made out to be the “baddie”. And I am supposed to want this misogynistic idiot to have a HEA. Urgh. But I digress…..

I was pretty much giggling throughout this entire book.

I loved how the relationship developed between Ree and Grayson. Loved them coming together as a couple and the banter between them.

Writing wise, at first, I felt it got a bit too over descriptive, especially when introducing a new character, we got a few little lines of introductory back story, which felt a little much, but by the end of this book, it has sort of just seeped into my brain, and I almost felt like I could have grown up in that town, knowing who was who in relation to other ppl.

And a couple of times, it did that thing, where it jumps forward a week or so, then recaps over what has happened in that week ( A KA thing for those that have read her) and once or twice I had to go back a couple of pages just to remind myself where we were in the story.

But with a book chock full of secondary characters that I would love to read more about, a great heroine and hero that I adored, and a funny, quirky, refreshingly modern, hugely entertaining read, I cannot wait to read more of this series.

I can see this joining the list of books I love to re read more than once.

Amazon Uk Link: My Coyote Ugly Life (My Life Series Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

