Lay It Down (Desert Dogs #1) by Cara McKenna

Lay It Down (Desert Dogs, #1)Lay It Down by Cara McKenna
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romantic Suspense
Series: – 1st in the Series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Yes
Rating – 5

★Review★

This book was not what I was expecting at all.

I have read this author before, and I enjoy her books, and this, I sort of expected to be the typical MC romance book. A bit heavy on the sex and a touch of angst and almost unbelievable drama.

Well it is not, Vince, the hero, is a biker, but not in an MC (not sure why I though he would be) and the book is so much more than I expected.

It turned out to be a great romantic suspense book, with a hero that was not an outlaw biker, not a billionaire, did not have a secret dungeon or anything. He was just a rough, crude, at times tender man, with a lot on his plate, a bit of a chequered past, trying to do his best by his family and a lost friend. I loved him!

I really liked him and Kim together (they had a great chemistry, hot hot hot), but this felt very much like Vince’s story, and even though it is a dual POV I loved being inside Vince’s head, feeling his fears and hopes.

The romance part of the book, is a slow burn, yes there is an instant attraction, and the entire thing does only take place over the course of 1-2 weeks, but it never felt rushed, or unbelievable! You could see how these 2 people had found something they did not even know they were looking for, and if they had, would certainly not have gone searching for it in each other.

The suspense and drama side, did not detract from the romance at all, and only served to enhance, and not overtake, yet you did not get bored of reading that part of it. You wanted to know what had happened, and I found myself almost grieving for Alex, along with Vince and feeling quite sad that Alex was gone too.

With an intriguing cast of secondary characters, being set up to be involved in future books, I cannot wait for the rest of this series! And while we did not get all the answers regarding the suspense and mystery, it seems this will be an ongoing story arc throughout the series possibly.

Amazon Uk Link: Lay it Down (Desert Dogs Series Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

