Hot as Hades (Four Horsemen MC #2) by Cynthia Rayne

Hot as Hades (Four Horsemen MC #2)Hot as Hades by Cynthia Rayne
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Copy received in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – Second in the series
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Yes
Rating – 5

★Review★

I read the first book Sweet Perdition a couple of months ago as a R2R and really really enjoyed it.

So when I was offered the chance to R2R the second book in the series, I jumped at the chance!

Cowboy was introduced in the first book, as a member of the Four Horsemen MC. This book is longer than the first, and a warning states at the start, it is darker in tone than book 1, which is the case.

Daisy is an ex marine, and is searching for her missing sister, who has been connected to a local rival MC club, The Raptors. Cowboy has gone undercover, as a relative newcomer to the MC World, his face is not known to The Raptors club. The Four Horseman MC club, after a violent history, have sort of cleaned up their act, and like to met out a bit of vigilante justice from time to time, and have heard that the rival MC maybe dealing in trafficking.

The first meeting is great, and Daisy, as an ex marine managed to get one over on Cowboy, not once but twice in the first night.

But soon, they team up and the Four Horsemen and Daisy, make an uneasy alliance, agreeing to help each other out.

I loved this story. I really liked book 1, and enjoyed it greatly, but this book just turned it up to an entirely other level. It was chock full of drama and suspense. Book 1 was very much an introduction to the Four Horseman and their members, and I adored Ryker, but this darker grittier tone to it is certainly where it seems the series will be going.

Both characters have tragic pasts that make them closed off and mistrustful. But the sexual tension between them is off the charts and as they work together, they both struggle to keep their feelings for the other in check. Daisy is a strong heroine, and Cowboy, while he may not like it, does not stop her from doing what she feels she needs to do for her sister.

The dialogue between them was great

I said when I read book 1, I was a bit tired of MC books! Seemed like you could not turn around without tripping over many badly done MC series, and everyone was doing bikers, like they did vampires 5 years ago.

But, I am glad I decided to give an MC series another go with Book 1, and cannot wait for the rest of the series.

The only niggle I could have, would be sometimes, the details need to be ironed out a bit better. But then I can get overly concerned about small details, such as, I do not think it ever said how old Daisy and Cowboy are…also, the history of the MC club that is mentioned in this book and the first, ie, when everything changed for the club, exactly how long ago was that etc…but, that is just a preference of mine, to have those small details clear.

But, with a whole cast of very intriguing characters, this is a series I look forward to finishing. I cannot wait for Duke’s and Shepherd’s book, especially Shepherd – as you can see, in this book and in the teaser for Duke, how his “secret” is starting to wear on him.

Some of my favourite bits:

She snorted. “I can see where this is going. In your head, it’s all Fifty Shades of Grey. But in reality, this is an episode of Law and Order. You know, the sex crimes one”

She thought back to boot camp, and her drill sergeant’s sadistic little mantra. “Pain is weakness leaving the body!”
“No, what’s leaving your body is wet, red stuff. It’s called blood and it’s leaking from your gunshot wound. Don’t try to marine me. Right now, you need a doctor and maybe a fucking shrink”

Anyway, this is now me waiting on Duke and Shepherd!

Amazon Uk Link: Hot as Hades (Four Horsemen MC Book 2)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

