Bulletproof (The Castell Brothers #2) by Izzy Williams

Bulletproof (The Castell Brothers, #2)Bulletproof by Izzy Williams
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Copy received in exchange for an honest review

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – 2nd in the series – but could be read as a stand alone
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Yes
Rating – 3 stars

★Review★

I did like this book, and would read more from the author. I may well get book 1 at some point, although, I hope book 3 would be about Andreo, since I would definitely love to read his book.

So, again, as I say, I did like this book, but there were a few things that stopped me really liking it or loving it.

Abigail had moved to Spain with her abusive boyfriend and had finally had enough, and rings her new friend to help her. This friend turns up with her Boyfriend and his brother, Raff.

Now, maybe I needed a bit more, from why exactly she stayed with her BF, other than her going “Oh I am shy, and he emotionally abused me too”, because, other than her telling people she is shy, or her thinking she is shy, or smiling shyly or bashfully at times – she never really came across as all that shy, and given she has just been saved from her ex, and is covered in bruises, she seemed more concerned with cheeking Raff out than much else.

It is not unusual for me to end up liking the heroine less than the hero, and it turned out to be the case here (then I felt guilty because of it since she is an abused heroine!). I just struggled to connect with Abigail at times tbh, her constant alluding to her shyness which never seemed all that evident, her judging of Raff and his character/actions from before he was even aware she existed in the world, her blowing hot and cold with Raff etc.

Raff I did like. He was great, who does not like a hero who saves the girl and falls hard and fast.

There were a few small errors that could be picked up by an editor, or things I would have liked addressed.

For example, at one point, Raff “asks softly in broken English – although his English is perfect”……

Or the odd occasion the wrong word is used , too instead of two (but not often enough to really stop me enjoying the book)

Or, after they have sex, for the first time, they mention they had not used condoms, and Abi says she should get tested, since she does not know if her BF was faithful – yet nothing is ever mentioned again, and they again do not use condoms. Also, she states she has the coil fitted yet at the end of the book, she in unexpectedly pregnant due to her having forgot to keep a tab on her injections!

But, overall, it was an enjoyable read, that made me happy that they got their HEA, not too taxing, not overly dramatic and angsty (which I do not like as it just gives me a headache) and I would more than happily read more from this author. As I said above, Andreo (brother of Raff) is very intriguing as a character and I would definitely read his book.

Amazon Uk Link: Bulletproof (The Castell Brothers Book 2)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

