Breaking Up with Barrett (The English Brothers, #1) by Katy Regnery

Breaking Up with Barrett (The English Brothers, #1)Breaking Up with Barrett by Katy Regnery
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – First in the series
Writing: -Third person Dual POV (Barrett and Emily)
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Maybe
Rating – 3

★Review★

While I did enjoy this, there was something about it, that I cannot put my finger on that stopped me really liking or loving it.

It felt quite dated, even though it is very recent, indeed mentions of iPhones (and do not get me started on Emily having herself an iPhone, yet she can hardly afford her rent but whatever), but, it felt like it could have been an 80’s Mills and Boon almost.

And for some reason I found Emily almost unlikeable. Again, I cannot give a solid reason, just something about her. I did like Barrett once we started getting his POV however.

Mild “drama” was built up, then never really causes any issues and just fizzles out, then it ended very abruptly. But given this is to be an ongoing series about the English Brothers, I assume we see previous couples and the continuation of their story as secondary characters.

A nice enough read that passed a couple of hours, but I would not be all fired up to continue the series.

Amazon Uk Link: Breaking Up with Barrett (The English Brothers Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

