Sweet Perdition (Four Horsemen MC #1) by Cynthia Rayne

Sweet Perdition (Four Horsemen MC #1)Sweet Perdition by Cynthia Rayne
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Copy received in exchange for an honest review

********

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance / MC Romance
Series: – First book in a new series
Writing – Third person Dual POV. Some minor editing errors, but only very minor.
Main Characters: Elizabeth Williams, a librarian, is drowning her sorrows in a biker bar after her ex and best friend just got married
Ryker, a member of the Four Horsemen MC, takes a liking to her while she is there and finds himself unable to treat her exactly like he normally does women.
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No. Although he is dancing with some other women at a biker party at one point, and is a bit of an ass, but for me, that was ok given the story, and how it helped move it forward. Also, they were not in a “proper” relationship as such. And I hate cheating in a book, but no kissing or more happened at all.
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Yes
Rating – 4 stars.

★Review★

It has been, what seems like ages since I read an MC book. At least an MC book that is good! Seems like people are writing bikers like they were all writing Vampires 5 years ago!

Saying that though, I really loved this book.

We have Ryker, Elizabeth, AKA Pinky, and not forgetting Lucy!

And I never ever say this, EVER! But I loved the heroine Elizabeth more then the hero Ryker! That never happens for me. I loved Ryker too, in all his ott male dumbassness, but Pinky, I adored! She stood up for herself, took no crap, was feisty and fun.

Banter between the two was great. I loved how they related to each other, and yes Ryker had some pretty dumb moments, he went down fighting at first, but he soon got over it!

The suspense and drama could have maybe been dragged out a touch more, it just seemed to have come out of the blue, and get resolved quickly. I also expected her best friend to make an appearance at some point, but she did not.

When at 85% on my kindle I turned the page and got an epilogue, I was slightly thrown and disappointed, but then I wanted more Ryker and Pinky!

Some very intriguing secondary characters that I really hope get their own book. I am very intrigued by Shepherd and it will be interesting to see if and how she handles his book.

And I know, I recently majorly ranted over a book and the way every other woman in the book, bar the heroine is portrayed as a slut – and yes this is an MC book. But the “hellions” were not a huge part of the book, and Ryker was not hugely respectful in his head, but I sort of expect it in a biker book, and can be a bit more relaxed about it, and even here, it was not that much a deal. It was more of a “they like it, we like it, no judging about it” attitude.

An excellent 4 stars for me.

Amazon Uk Link: Sweet Perdition (Four Horsemen MC Book 1)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

