Shrouded in Blackness (The Blackness, #3) by Norma Jeanne Karlsson

Shrouded in Blackness (The Blackness, #3)Shrouded in Blackness by Norma Jeanne Karlsson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Copy received in exchange for an honest review

********

★Book Basics★

Genre: – Contemporary Romance
Series: – Third in a series. While technically, the this could be read as a stand alone, there is a lot of mention of the previous main characters from the first 2 books, especially the heroine from those 2 books. When I received it to review, I was unaware it was the third in the series, but I would recommend having read the first 2, just to get the references to what happened/is happening as there is some cross over in the time line.
Writing – First person Dual POV
Main Characters: Darcy Quinlan, 26. Has been living on the streets for years, hiding from the world and her family. The only person she allows any sort of relationship, is Ian Brogan, an ex fighter in his sixties and owner of a gym.
Kieran Delaney is not a good man. He is “a criminal, a murderer, a fighter….” But when he meets Darcy, and she starts the introduction off with a knife to his throat, he finds himself unable and unwilling to forget her.
Love triangle? – No
Cheating? – No
HEA? – Yes
Would I read more by this author? – Possibly
Rating – 4 stars.

★Review★

So I will admit it took me longer than my usual to read this book. I actually started it, and then went and re read some old favourites. Not the books fault, it was partly the fact it was too hot here, I had a busy few weeks, and I was exhausted, so did not feel able to properly read something new.

But, I got back to it yesterday, skimmed the first 15% or so that I had read a couple of weeks ago, and devoured the rest of the book in a matter of hours

The writing was very polished, and it drew you in. I love a dual POV and it really really worked here.

There is a lot going on at times, and for me, I am not a huge fan of time jumps, where it is suddenly a few weeks ahead, and the relationship has moved on off screen, as I tend to love to read that build up and forming of a relationship/family.

But here, it was not such an issue for me, mainly as I did not feel like I missed hugely out on anything from either character, although it did give off a bit of an insta love/lust vibe due to this.

Keiran I loved – he is grumpy and not a good man, but just melts when it came to those he loved in this book.
And Quinn was kick ass and independent, if a bit stubbornly so at times.

With a great cast of secondary characters, such as Ian, and Owen, Connor etc, who were all such lovely guys, it was a really engaging read. And I loved Jack and his baby sister, and loved how Keiran was with them. And I loved even more, how Quinn got her revenge for what had happened to the boy she took on as her own son.

It does touch on some very difficult themes, that may be triggering for some, and has some very violent scenes.

However, not having read the first 2 in the series, I was rather put off by the comparisons made between the heroine of those books, and the heroine of this book, and the hero worship (heroine worship?) that was from both Kieran and Quinn. As someone who has not read the first two books in the series, it made me not like the heroine from those books. (But then I can be awkward and mardy so…) So, for me that was an issue.

Also, I wanted more from the conflict toward the end between Quinn and Kieran. I just found it hard to believe, that Quinn would uproot herself and her “children” especially Jack who had been through so much, and formed such bonds with Kieran, over Kieran being a dick. For me, her response was not fitting of his “crime” given who else she had to think about. Again, that is just for me. They were not just building something as a couple, they were building it as a family.

But, I really enjoyed it, and loved reading about Keiran and Quinn and the ending was beautiful.

So a great 4 stars and I probably would read more from this author in the future, especially if we get a Owen or Connor book!

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

