The Opposite of Wild (Clover Park #1) by Kylie Gilmore

The Opposite of Wild (Clover Park, #1)The Opposite of Wild by Kylie Gilmore
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Copy received in exchange for an honest review

This was a light-hearted, cute romance.

I think I have read too many MC or Romantic Suspense books lately, so it was really refreshing to pick something up that is purely about the relationship, and not about bad guys with guns!

The entire cast of Characters was great. I loved Maggie! I want a Gran like that!

Ryan, again, loved. In fact I loved all the O’Hare brothers! There is something about a man who loves his Gran that is swoon worthy! And their reactions to their Gran and her new lease of life “Gran is flirting. I’ve never seen that. It’s like seeing a cow suddenly milk itself”

I wavered between 3 and 4 stars for this, as it was a really enjoyable book, but I struggled with certain things.

Liz! I really struggled to warm up to her at first! I know she is meant to be buttoned up and uptight, but she took over control too far sometimes IMO

The way she went on about her sisters baby, how she would be bringing it up, etc, “ Me and the baby are a package “ Well, no, the kid has parents, and she needed to stop enabling her sisters dependant behaviour!

But, she started to grow on me, especially when we learn of The Humiliation, what led to her total control, and you realise, she is grabbing at excuses to not let Ryan close to her, because her self image of herself was formed in the moment of The Humiliation! And even her super organisational skills started to become almost endearing. Alphabetised Spices!

Also, at the beginning, maybe the first 30% or so, I wanted more of Ryan, it felt like Liz and Maggie were the two main characters of the book, and I loved Maggie, but needed more of Ryan!

There was there odd thing here to there that was a bit predictable! I knew, as soon as it was mentioned there would be a wedding, Liz and Ryan would end up getting together properly at the wedding ]

All in all, though, a great début by Kylie Gilmore, that I enjoyed. I ended up rating it 3.5 (rounded up to 4) just because it took me a bit to warm up to the h and I wanted more from the H at the start.

But, I will certainly be getting books 2 about Daisy and Trav, and cannot wait for a book, about Shane (which I assume/hope there will be)

Amazon UK Link: The Opposite of Wild (Clover Park, Book 1) (The Clover Park Series)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

