The Heart Knows What the Heart Wants by Lori L. Clark

The Heart Knows What the Heart WantsThe Heart Knows What the Heart Wants by Lori L. Clark
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Copy received in exchange for an honest review

There was something about this book that I rather liked!

Maybe it was the older woman/younger man.
Something I admit I do not read all that often.

At first, I was worried that Star and her interest in Astrology, and star signs etc, may start to annoy me and “take over” the story. Luckily it did not happen…and it was all kept rather subtle and just part of who she was.

I loved Star and Shane together. And their story and how they both ended up where they were was lovely.

But, in saying that, I somehow wanted more. Which says a lot for the author to a certain extent, I loved her two main characters so much I wanted more from them. I feel too much time was given to the ex…and it took away from the development of Star and Shane’s relationship. I felt this keenly at the end, which felt a bit rushed. After what happened, I wanted to read about how they moved on as a couple and recovered.

Oh and Star is only 30! Her insistence she was over the hill and too old, and even at one point checked for wrinkles and grey hairs, threw me. Now, I am older than 30, and I just kept thinking “woman, you are not that old” then I went and checked for grey hairs and wrinkles! But, then again, Star had a very poor opinion of herself at this point, and it was all tied into that!

Also, I struggled sometimes with the constant POV changes. I personally prefer it chapter by chapter, or at least made more obvious a shift in POV has happened. Here it was short paragraph by short paragraph. But, I did enjoy having both Star and Shane’s POV, it added something certainly, just I wish it had been done a different way.

All in, was a decent 3.5 (rounded up to 4) and I would read more from this author in the future.

Amazon UK Link: The Heart Knows What the Heart Wants

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

