The Degas Girl by A.J. Adams

The Degas GirlThe Degas Girl by A.J. Adams
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Copy received in exchange for an honest review.

***************

Another enjoyable book by A J Admas.

She has a way of writing dark, not very nice characters that you still end up loving and rooting for.

These are flawed people, with past pains that have scarred and marked them and forged them into the person they have become!

“Zachary Schiavelli is an art thief and forger. His handsome face is merely the mask that hides a cold, calculating man whose own childhood of abuse has honed him into a remorseless killing machine.”

“Serenity Bishop is a work of art. Her skin a canvas, decorated with the scars of her evil captor’s twisted abuse. But her tormentor, Angelo, is about to lose control.

Serentiy was “sold” as part of a deal by her then boyfriend and has been living in hell for the past few months.

Zachary is a man who had a terrible childhood and will not be crossed.

When Zachary’s cousin tries to double cross him on a deal, he becomes aware of Serentity and who she is to Angelo, and decides to have her and use her to get revenge on Angelo.

He is quite cold and ruthless.

Serenity is distrustful (for obvious reasons) and tries to figure out Zachary and his plan for her.

Yet, over the weeks and months, they both find something neither ever thought they would find, or indeed ever looked for.

Past guilts and actions haunt them both.


“I felt nothing because I had completed the circle. I had been a victim, and I had taken that experience and used it to debase and exploit this girl. I hadn’t survived; I had become the abuser.
I looked into those blue eyes and I knew myself for what I was: I was a monster”

How they both came to know all of the others secrets, accept them and saved each other, fought for and defended each other made for a beautiful story.

It is hard to take in places, the actions of the characters, Zachary in particular, and the history and abuse they have both had to live through, was at time difficult to read.

But, you rooted for them both, wanted it to come good in the end for them both and for them to be able to carry on their lives free on the past and stronger together.



“At her words, the first thought that entered my mind was that her directness was one of the things I loved about her. Love. That was a word that wasn’t in my vocabulary.
I looked into her red rimmed eyes and suddenly it all clicked into place: the possessiveness I felt for her from the start, the way her emotions resonated with mine, and the peace I felt when she was near me were all symptoms of the same thing; I was in love with Serenity.
I’d been an idiot not to know it before maybe, but I didn’t think I had it in me. Now I looked at my girl and knew she’d changed me forever. She’d shown me a side of myself I didn’t know existed. Maybe it never had; maybe she’d created it. Either way she owned my heart”

A brilliant 4 stars.

Amazon Uk Link: The Degas Girl

Leave a comment

Filed under Dark Erotica, Dark Romance

Leave a Reply

