Kaleidoscope (Colorado Mountain, #6) by Kristen Ashley

Kaleidoscope (Colorado Mountain, #6)Kaleidoscope by Kristen Ashley
My rating: 3.5-4 of 5 stars
11/11/14 – Still 3.5 – 4 stars after a re read. I actually liked this a lot more re reading it right after I re read Breathe. Deck seemed much more a consistent character. I liked Deck a lot more on the re read. And while I liked Emme, it was a struggle at times to keep liking her. I still remain unconvinced Elsbeth was the bad guy in the past. Her best friend is allowed to call her boyfriend by his given name, something she is not allowed to do, they hole up in a corner at parties and talk for hours etc….no wonder she kept her options open! Emme seemed to at times be a bit too much “oh Elsbeth did this while you were together, but I will not as I am much better…..” Still leaves a bad taste in my mouth tbh.

I am unsure about how to rate this.

One the one hand, it kept me up and led to me only getting 3 hours sleep the night before I knew I was going to be walking up and down mountains all day.

On the other, hand, I have now finished it and it is all sort of a blur! I remember more about the rest of the Colorado mtn series I re read before this one, yet I have just finished this, but it is not as clear and as sharp in my mind! I feel disconnected from the story!

I like Deck and Emme.

However, certain things left a vaguely bad taste in my mouth, the descriptions of how their relationship was before, when he was with Elsbeth. I am not 100% sure Elsbeth was the bad guy in that, and her reactions to it, the jealousy, the asking Deck to tone it down, all understandable! While Deck and Emme might not have clicked on what was happening till years later, the Girlfriend at the time certainly did!

Not sure how I feel about Harvey.

It needed to be longer, much longer and have some proper KA style prose. All the jumping forward in time just made me feel forced out of their story to a certain extent.

It ended rather abruptly too, and felt a bit like a balloon deflating right at the end…just a bit “ppfffftttttttt”

I liked Deck and Emme, and I liked their story, I just wish it had been more

But, even a less then stellar for me KA is still a lot better than 85% of anything else I read.

A decent 3.5-4, rounded up to 4 stars.

Amazon UK Link: Kaleidoscope (Colorado Mountain Series Book 6)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

