Games of the Heart (The ‘Burg #4) by Kristen Ashley

Games of the Heart (The 'Burg, #4)Games of the Heart by Kristen Ashley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
This is a beautiful beautiful love story!

Or two actually!

Mike and Dusty

and

Reece and Fin!

Love it!

Although, must say, I find it hard to connect to Dusty and found her a bit annoying. But, is it Dusty herself (who I found rolling my eyes at a few times, since she was so bloody perfect!!) or the fact that I have had this issue with KA heroines in the past, and Dusty came at the end of a massive months long re read of a few KA series?

Once again, a woman, with no experience in a “mother” role, comes in like the fecking Child Rearing Guru Wonder Woman, and can bake 10 layer cakes, decorate, advise, be fecking brilliant and awesome, while the birth mother/ex-wife is a cow! Although, the ex wife here is not as bad as other KA ex wives, but that is because we had Dusty’s sister being the bitch of all bitches for no real reason.

I love KA books, really love them, but I am way way over that!

So, after my rant, I shall just finish by putting down some of my favourite parts of this book. (although my absolute favourite parts were any part with Fin and Reece! They stole my heart!)


Mike did not, until that moment know The ‘Burg’s high school hierarchy. But at that moment he knew Finley Holliday, even as a junior, reigned as king.
And his eyes going directly to Reesee then his feet taking him there meant he’d just declared in front of thirty plus kids who he intended to make his queen.
“Fuck,” he muttered under his breath and heard Dusty chuckle but he didn’t take his eyes off his daughter who tipped her head back and he saw her lips form the word “Hey,” to which Fin’s lips formed the word “Hey” back. Then Fin reached out and grabbed his girl’s hand for a quick squeeze before he let it go.
Christ, no crowns were in evidence but still Mike knew Fin just performed a coronation.

***********

“I’m falling in love with you, Mike Haines.”…..
“Angel, you’re already gone.”
I blinked and asked, “Sorry?”
“….You fell with a kiss. I know, honey, because I was right there with you.”

************

Oh and I loved the scenes with Mike, Cal, Colt, Merry and Sully when they were gossiping about Mike and Dusty, then with all of them and the addition of Layne, Ryker, Devin and Rivera in Tanner’s office and arguing about cake!

Still 5 stars even after a re read, even with my faint dislike of Dusty and her “greatness” but that might not just be her (although it so is – ugh) but she comes at the end of a long run of bloody “perfect” KA step mothers!

Amazon Uk Link: Games of the Heart (The ‘Burg Series Book 4)

1 Comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

One response to “Games of the Heart (The ‘Burg #4) by Kristen Ashley

  1. Pingback: Loving the re reads….. | The Romance Reading Brit

Leave a Reply

