At Peace (The ‘Burg, #2) by Kristen Ashley

At Peace (The 'Burg, #2)At Peace by Kristen Ashley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love this book.

It is truly truly beautiful!

Violet Winters has moved the The ‘Burg after losing her cop husband to a crime lord, a crime lord who then took an interest in her, and “stalked” her for months.

She moves in next door to Joe Callahan.

At first, they get off on the wrong foot!


Wasn’t that just the shit of it? There I was, in my predicament and I had security to the fucking stars living next door and I hated him because he was a huge jerk

But they have an attraction to each other, and both try to fight it, and even make a good go at fighting it, denying what they could mean to each other. There is hurt and hurtful words thrown on each side, but they cannot deny what they mean to each other.


“You’re unbelievable” I snapped.
“I’m yours”
That socked me in the gut, so hard it winded me and all I could do was stare up at him.
Taking advantage, his face dipped close and his hands curled around both sides of my head.
“First fuckin’ time you smiled at me in my bed, that’s when it happened,” he murmured.
“Joe-“
“You’re under my skin”
“Please-“
“I’m under yours”

Not to say, Joe did not do some hurtful things, but it was all in an effort to protect himself, and once you know why he felt that need, your heart broke for him.

But once he decided Violet was it for him, he was all there and completely committed to it.

Add in some drama, a once again excellent set of secondary characters (and is it just me who wishes we could have had a lot more of Cal’s secretary Lindy?”) and you have a winner

A beautiful heart wrenching 5 stars

Amazon Uk Link: At Peace (The ‘Burg Series Book 2)

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Romance

Leave a Reply

